Music Logo 
Vancouver Folk Festival:

A Spectrum of Sounds

This year’s roster of festival artists promises to deliver what the VFMF is known for at home and internationally: exciting new voices, a range and diversity of amazing global music, hot names along with music that spans the spectrum from ancient traditions to the cutting-edge of 21st Century roots music fusions. Expect brilliant music that digs deep and goes beyond; expect a weekend that delivers a full festival experience rich with new discoveries. This is the world’s music – diverse, powerful and real.
 
The 2011 artists reflect an incredible range of music, cultures and backgrounds. >From the cutting-edge hip hop/soul of Emmanuel Jal, born into the life of a child solider in Southern Sudan, to Leon Rosselson’s songs and message from a lifetime of activism; from the personal stories and quiet moments of Oklahoma’s Samantha Crain, Ordo Sakhna’s reviving of the ancient Kyrgyz folk arts of traditional Kyrgyzstan, to the high-energy “Riverboat Soul” of Pokey LaFarge and the South City Three – there is a wealth of musical culture at the Vancouver Folk Music Festival to explore, discover and enjoy.

Folk Fest 2011
 
The 2011 roster includes:
 
C.R. Avery (BC) www.cravery.com
Beats Antique (CA) www.beatsantique.com
Dustin Bentall Outfit featuring Kendel Carson (BC)
Dan Bern (CA) www.danbern.com
Elliott Brood (ON) www.elliottbrood.ca
Jim Bryson and the Weakerthans Band (ON) www.jimbryson.org
Buck 65 (NS) www.buck65.com/newsite/
The Burning Hell (ON) www.wearetheburninghell.com
Kathryn Calder (BC) www.kathryncalder.ca
James Cotton Superharp (MI) www.jamescottonsuperharp.com
Samantha Crain (OK) www.samanthacrain.com
Dardanelles (NL) www.myspace.com/dardanelles
Alpha Yaya Diallo (BC) www.alphayayadiallo.com
Digging Roots (ON) www.diggingrootsmusic.com
The Duhks (MB) www.theduhks.com
Footworks Percussive Dance Ensemble (MD) www.footworks.org
The Fugitives (BC) www.fugitives.ca
Dick Gaughan, Dave Swarbrick & Jason Wilson (ON/UK/Scotland) www.dickgaughan.co.uk / www.folkicons.co.uk/swarb.htm / www.jasonwilsonmusic.com
Mary Gauthier (TN) www.marygauthier.com
Dan Hicks and the Hot Licks (CA) www.danhicks.net
Imaginary Cities (MB) www.imaginarycities.ca
Emmanuel Jal (Sudan/UK) http://emmanueljal.com
Diana Jones (TN) www.dianajonesmusic.com
Cassius Khan (BC) www.cassiuskhan.com
La-33 (Colombia) www.la-33.com
Pokey LaFarge & the South City Three (MO) www.pokeylafarge.net
Daniel Lapp (BC) www.daniellapp.com
Mélissa Laveaux (QC) http://melissalaveaux.com
Ricardo Lemvo & Makina Loca (Congo/Angola (US)) www.makinaloca.com
Wendy McNeill (AB) www.wendymcneill.com
Danny Michel (ON) www.dannymichel.com
New Country Rehab (ON) www.newcountryrehab.com
Nomadic Caravan (India) Videos : http://www.chinhwebchannel.in/
Morgan O’Kane (VI/NY) www.morganokanemusic.com
Joel Plaskett (NS) www.joelplaskett.com
Réveillons (QC) www.reveillons.qc.ca
Josh Ritter & The Royal City Band (US) www.joshritter.com
Tim Robbins & The Rogues Gallery Band (CA) www.timrobbins.net
Leon Rosselson (UK) www.leonrosselson.co.uk
Ordo Sakhna (Kyrgyzstan) www.ordosakhna.com
Solas (US) www.solasmusic.com
Spiro (UK) www.spiromusic.com
Hans Theessink and Terry Evans (CA/Austria) www.theessink.com / www.terryevansmusic.com
Ti-Coca & Wanga-Nègès (Haiti) www.myspace.con/ticoca
Tinariwen (Mali) www.myspace.com/tinariwen
Foy Vance (UK) www.foyvance.com
David Wax Museum (MA) www.davidwaxmuseum.com
Emily Wells (NY) www.emilywellsmusic.com
Jenny Whiteley (ON) www.jennywhiteley.com
Cris Williamson (WA) www.criswilliamson.com
David Woodhead’s Confabulation (ON) www.davidwoodhead.com/confabulation
 
Festival Box Office
This year our storefront Box Office opens on May 2 at 411 Dunsmuir Street, the same location as in 2009. Tickets can be purchased and picked up at this location starting on Monday May 2.
Early Bird tickets are on sale now to June 11 through www.thefestival.bc.ca
 

TICKETS available online on the festival website, by phone, at the Festival Box Office at 411 Dunsmuir Street (at street level, starting May 2), and at a number of local outlets.
TICKET PRICES: Full weekend adult passes range from $135 (Early Bird) to $165 (at the gate).
One-day and evening tickets are available at Early Bird (to June 11), Advance (to July 14) and at the gate at adult, elder, student and youth rates. Children 12 years and under enter free (accompanied by adult). Group rates are available. Check the festival website for full ticket details. 
FESTIVAL HOURS: the festival runs from 5pm – 11pm July 15; 10am – 11pm July 16 & 17.
 




Google
Search Columbia Journal Search WWW